100% Law Firm Challenge

A Message from Randy Sorrels '87

As a very proud South Texas graduate and board member, I hold a special sense of pride in our alma mater. Like you, I have fond memories from my law school days —from long hours in the library to the customary ringing of the bell after that last final exam. And, of course, the classmates with whom I debated, competed, and built lasting friendships.

It is in the spirit of this appreciation and friendly competition that I invite you and your colleagues to join the 2016 Law Firm Challenge. Established in 2007, the South Texas Law Firm Challenge was established to bring South Texas graduates together for a common purpose: maintaining excellence in legal education at the law school.

Our goal is to have 100 percent of your firm’s South Texas College of Law alumni give $25 or more to support the critical learning programs at South Texas. You can designate your gift to the program or department of your choice, such as the general scholarship fund, the Advocacy Program, the Clinic Program, and the Harry L. Reed Oil Gas Law Institute. If you’ve made a gift since the start of the fiscal year on September 1, 2015, you’re already in the game; my thanks for your contribution. I hope you will consider giving again.

Thank you for joining me and the many other alumni who have already accepted the Challenge. With your help, South Texas will continue to attract the best students, and keep our programs affordable and accessible—ensuring access to justice for all.

Randall O. Sorrels ‘87
Chair, 2016 Law Firm Challenge


When our firm achieves 100 percent participation, South Texas will reward us with:

  • An invitation to a special VIP cocktail reception for those who meet the Challenge hosted by President and Dean Donald J. Guter
  • A special lunch briefing on the state of the law school with the Dean for those firms meeting the Challenge for the first time
  • A professional photograph of all alumni at the firm, which will be featured in the online alumni community, and the law school's website and social media accounts
  • A special listing in the Annual Report to Donors, which is mailed to all alumni and friends of the school

For more information about the Law Firm Challenge, please contact Susan Diederich at sdiederich@stcl.edu or 713-646-1800.

To make a gift online for Law Firm Challenge credit, please click here.  

Olson & Olson, LLP - 2015 Law Firm Challenge Participants


Click here for current Challenge standings

Click here for past Challenge results

Click here for a list of Frequently Asked Questions about the Challenge

South Texas College of Law • 1303 San Jacinto Street, Houston, Texas 77002 • 713-646-1801
Please send comments or questions to stclalumni@stcl.edu