Endowments supporting faculty chairs and professorships enable outstanding professors to pursue new areas of research and innovative teaching methods. These types of endowments help South Texas attract and retain the finest faculty members.

A select number of South Texas faculty members who have achieved excellence in teaching and legal scholarship are honored by the law school with distinguished professorships. These professorships, as well as research professorships, are established by South Texas alumni and friends through endowment gifts.

Four distinguished professorships and four research professorships have been established to date:

  • The Spurgeon E. Bell Distinguished Professorship of Law, held by R. Randall Kelso
  • The Stanley J. Krist Distinguished Professorship of Texas Law, held by Elaine A. Carlson '79
  • The W. James Kronzer, Jr., Distinguished Professorship in Advocacy, held by T. Gerald Treece
  • The Charles J. Weigel II Distinguished Professorship, currently open
  • The Godwin Lewis, PC, Research Professorship, held by Dr. Mark E. Steiner
  • The Vinson & Elkins L.L.P. Research Professorship, held by Cherie O. Taylor
  • The Harry ’56 and Helen Hutchens Research Professorship, held by Dru Stevenson
  • The Presidential Research Professorship, held by Geoffrey S. Corn
The establishment of professorships by South Texas alumni and friends signifies their commitment to the College’s future academic growth. For information about supporting a faculty chair or professorship, please contact Maya Fredrickson,  Senior Vice President of Advancement, at (713) 646-1803 or mfredrickson@stcl.edu.

South Texas College of Law • 1303 San Jacinto Street, Houston, Texas 77002 • 713-646-1801
Please send comments or questions to stclalumni@stcl.edu